#15 Black Seas Ensemble

Black Seas Ensemble - Songs the Night Before

Digital EP

1. Lean left, skull of Shostakovich 03:27
2. Vapours 03:32
3. Songs the night before 16:37

Three variations on a theme.

Robin Wattie: electric guitar, voice
Mathieu Ball: drums, electric guitar
Steve Bates: electric guitar, synth

Black Seas / Ensemble is a reconfigurable group of musicians coming together for specific recording projects and performances associated with the multimedia project, Black Seas, by Steve Bates. The project is influenced by historical and contemporary experiences of auditory hallucination. Here the ensemble features Robin Wattie and Mathieu Ball from Big | Brave.

Recorded and mixed by Timothy Herzog
Additional recording and mixing on Shostakovich and Vapours by Steve Bates
Breakglass (Montréal) and Reflected Light Studios (Saskatoon), 2019-2020

Lyrics for Songs the night before adapted from a passage in Virginia Woolf’s The Voyage Out.

Thank you:
Timothy Herzog, France Choinière, Jace Lacek, jake moore, Oswaldo Toledano, Virginia Woolf.

Released May 1, 2020

The Dim Coast / #15